WHAT’S NEXT?

book

Those of you familiar with me know I am a writer.  And that I have been working on a book for longer than I care to admit.  Now that NAKED JOY is finished, printed, bound  and ready for release;I am panicked.  There is no turning back. Plus, I currently face the daunting challenge of marketing the darn thing .  And self promotion is not my forte by any means.

At this point, the first, inevitable question every professional in the industry asks me about NAKED JOY is:

“Who is going to buy this book?”  Like I am not only an author but a psychic.

I know better than to answer “How the heck should I know?”   And my temptation is to quip,

“Everyone, of course!”

But I know this is not true.  So I am compelled to think about a logical, sane answer to this probing question.

Hmm. Just who is going to buy my book?  For starters, I can only hope members of my family, dwindling as it is, will pick up a copy or two.  And then there are my friends, or those I assume are my pals.  Trying to be generous, I’d consider offering my stories for free to anyone kind enough to read them.  But I have been advised this is not the wisest idea.  My goal should be increased sales, not healthy human relations.

So I mull over this quandary.  I imagine strangers sauntering into a bookstore somewhere in the Midwest, in search of a good read or thoughtful gift.  Who’d be attracted to a cover with a bottle of dish detergent wearing a bra?  Although I must admit, most people seem to like the title NAKED JOY.  I fear it is for reasons other than I intended in naming the book, but at least it seems to draw interest.

Admittedly, my writing is full of offbeat, droll, sometimes dark humor.  The kind many readers would not understand, or could perceive as peculiar, weird, or simply–not funny.  I know this for fact.  These are the same people who see non-latex gloves featured on my Facebook page and are perplexed.  Enough to ask when they see me, “Can you explain the story behind the gloves?”

And I can’t.

There is no real backstory.  One day I was drying the gloves near the kitchen sink, each on its own wine bottle, and I happened to pass through the room. Lost in thought, probably about why I ever decided to attempt to publish a book, I noticed a pair of hands waving to me from the counter so I did the natural thing.

I waved back.

Something about his touched me so I decided to give these trustworthy, dependable gloves more exposure.  And suddenly, more so than myself, they had gathered a loyal group of followers.  In fact, when the handy pair do not appear on my page after several days or maybe a week, caring, curious friends start asking about them.

“Where are the gloves? Are they okay?  We miss them!”

On the bright side, I suppose I can only hope there is something for everyone in NAKED JOY.  Ideally, even those skeptics who think non -latex gloves do not belong on Facebook, let alone reading books, hanging out in hazy clubs, or traveling to exotic locales–places beyond imagination.

5 Comments on “WHAT’S NEXT?”

  1. Sandy Stewart says:

    NANSAN.. You need to get a review, preferably a good one. And put it out there and then it’ll happen.

  2. Doug Clegg says:

    Nan… I love that you are torn about your possible audience. It must truly be nerve wracking. I can’t imagine what it must feel like to put yourself out there for all of us. I am sure friends and family will be kind and I, for one, truly look forward to a read. The accomplishment is truly to be commended, regardless of the reviews. Thanks for your humor and for your gloves… they both bring a smile to my face.

  3. Jgfsails says:

    So, I stopped at Kramer Books in DC today and they do not have your book. That is just wrong. I told them.

  4. Patricia A Zlotin says:

    It is interesting what comes up on Amazon when putting in the title Naked Joy, including erotic photography…..perhaps some buyers will confuse your book with another spicier book. Imagine their surprise, and hopefully joy, when they discover what they actually purchased !

  5. Meredith Haines says:

    Congrats, Nan! On sending your first-written out into the wide world!


Leave a Reply

